EDI layered architecture

  1. Semantic (or application) layer
  2. Standards translation layer
  3. Packing (or transport) layer
  4. Physical network infrastructure layer

EDI semantic layer:

  • Describes the business application
  • Procurement example
  1. Requests for quotes
  2. Price quotes
  3. Purchase orders
  4. Acknowledgments
  5. Invoices

  • Specific to company & software used

EDI Standard layer(Standards translation):

  • Specifies business form structure so that information can be exchanged
  • Two competing standards:- 
1. The ANSI ASC X12 Standards 
• The X12 standard defined a set of documents, which are referred to as transaction sets. • The common documents and their corresponding transaction set numbers: 850 P.O, 810 Invoice, 855 P.O. Ack., 856 Ship Notice 

2. EDIFACT Standards 
• A combination of the ASC X12 standards and the Trade Data Interchange (TDI) standards developed in the United Kingdom and used throughout Europe.


2) EDI transport layer

  • How the business form is sent, e.g. post, UPS, fax
  • Increasingly, e-mail is the carrier
  • Differentiating EDI from e-mail

  1. Emphasis on automation
  2. EDI has certain legal status

3) Physical network infrastructure layer

Dial-up lines, Internet, a value-added network, etc.


Popular posts from this blog

What are the key challenges facing in Software Engineering? Explain.

Description of Electronic Commerce Framework/Generic Framework of E-commerce.